Foundation seeks Medal of Honor Award nominees

December 1, 2014

2015 Nomination form — Non-Lawyer
2015 Nomination form — Lawyer

ORLANDO, Fla. — The Florida Bar Foundation will be accepting nominations for the 2015 Medal of Honor Awards until Feb. 3.

The Medal of Honor Award is given in two categories. The first category is for members of The Florida Bar, including practicing lawyers, judges or teachers in the legal field. The second category is for non-lawyers, including lawyers who are not currently practicing. All nominees must be Florida residents.

Nominees in the lawyer category must have a demonstrated dedication to the purpose of The Florida Bar, which strives to inculcate in its members the principles of duty and service to the public, to improve the administration of justice, and to advance the science of jurisprudence.

The 2014 Medal of Honor Award in the lawyer category was presented to Ft. Lauderdale attorney Bob Butterworth for his effective enforcement of victim and consumer protection, environmental, civil rights and anti-trust laws as Florida’s longest-serving attorney general, his noteworthy accomplishments in expanding open government in Florida, and his willingness and capacity to assume difficult jobs when it was crucial to the public good to do so. Past recipients of the award also include Robert C. Josefsberg of Miami, Bruce B. Blackwell of Orlando, and Hank Coxe, III, of Jacksonville.

Nominees in the non-lawyer category must have made outstanding contributions to the improving the administration of justice in Florida through research, writing, or other deeds of significant character and quality.

Past recipients of the Medal of Honor Award for a non-lawyer include Kathleen “Katie” Self of Sarasota for her pioneering work in the implementation of teen courts across Florida and the volunteering of her services in establishing the Teen Court of Sarasota; Elizabeth Lander “Budd” Bell of Tallahassee for over four decades of volunteer advocacy to improve the lives of Florida’s children, elderly and disabled; and Dr. Walter F. Lambert of Miami for his life’s work as a medical advocate for abused and neglected children, and for his significant volunteer work for South Florida children in foster care.

Nominations for The Florida Bar Foundation’s highest honor should describe the specific achievements that would qualify an individual for the Medal of Honor Award, and also should include a brief biographical sketch of the nominee.

Nomination forms are available from the Foundation, or can be downloaded from the Foundation’s website at Nominations should be sent to: The Florida Bar Foundation, Medal of Honor Awards Program, 875 Concourse Parkway South, Suite 195, Maitland, FL 32751. Nominations also may be e-mailed to [email protected]

The awards will be presented at the Foundation’s 39th Annual Reception and Dinner during the Annual Florida Bar Convention on June 25, 2015, at the Boca Raton Resort & Club in Boca Raton.

For more information, call The Florida Bar Foundation at (800) 541-2195, or (407) 960-7000.

2015 Nomination form — Lawyer
2015 Nomination form — Non-Lawyer
Past recipients